PGC News

  • Oct 8, 2015

    PGC proudly announces the short lists for its 2015 Tom Hendry Awards. The short lists for the Carol Bolt Award, the PGC Emerging Playwright Award, as well as the Stage West Pechet Family Comedy & Musical Awards were released on October 8th by their respective juries. 

    Carol Bolt Award – 2015 Short List

    This award is given annually for the best work by a PGC-member that has premiered in the past year. This year's Carol Bolt Award is in...

  • Oct 7, 2015

    The Canada Council for the Arts has just released the short list for the 2015 Governor General's Literary Awards, and 7 PGC members are finalists! All nominated pieces on the Shortlist for Drama (English Language) were written by PGC members. 

    Beth Graham from Alberta is nominated for her drama The Gravitational Pull of Bernice Trimble. Toronto’s...

  • Oct 7, 2015

    David Bolt passed away Sunday, October 4th, predeceased by his first wife, playwright Carol Bolt. David will be sorely missed but not forgotten by everyone at Playwrights Guild of Canada. We send our thoughts and sympathies to his friends and loved ones, as we celebrate the life of one of the most tireless supporters of PGC and Canadian Arts.

    A funeral will be held at Mount Pleasant Visitation Centre, 375 Mount Pleasant Road, Toronto, on Friday, October 9th, at 2 p.m. Donations in...

  • Oct 1, 2015

    Are you having trouble with your Canadian play search? Let PGC help you out! We are now offering Custom CanRevues as part of our community and member services. This is perfect for professors, coaches, students, artistic directors, or ANYONE looking for play specifics.

    Fill out this...

  • Sep 30, 2015

    Playwrights Guild of Canada is proud to announce that Shirley Barrie will be awarded PGC’s Lifetime Membership Award.

    Shirley Barrie was selected as PGC’s Lifetime Membership Award recipient for her outstanding body of work as a Canadian playwright, in addition to her years of service to Playwrights Guild of Canada. Shirley was the president of PGC from 2009 – 2011, but she served...